2024 ALSB Centennial Conference

In 1924 at the LaSalle Hotel in Chicago, in conjunction with the annual meeting of the American Association of Law Schools, a group of twenty seven faculty began what was then called the Association of Instructors in Law in Collegiate Schools of Business.  

At the 1926 annual meeting, again in conjunction with the American Association of Law Schools at the LaSalle Hotel in Chicago, the group changed its name to the Association of Teachers of Law in Collegiate Schools of Business. This name stuck until 1937, when it was changed to the American Business Law Association.  Finally, in 1991, the membership, by then with over 1,000 dues-paying members, voted overwhelming at the annual meeting in Portland, Maine to adopt the name Academy of Legal Studies in Business.

While there were a few years without annual meetings (before 1952), the Academy of Legal Studies in Business will celebrate its 100th year of existence in 2024. Accordingly, we are planning to celebrate in grand fashion. The Midyear Meeting of the ALSB will be held at the Midwest Academy of Legal Studies in Business in Chicago in 2024 in order to commemorate the origins of the organization in that great city. The Annual Conference of the ALSB will be held in Washington, D.C. because of its many obvious and wonderful connections to the study of law. The beautiful grand dame of hotels, the Mayflower, will be our host hotel at the phenomenal rate of $189 per night. Alex Reed from the University of Georgia will be our program chair.

Efforts are already under way to plan for the Annual Conference in 2024. See the webpage https://centennial.alsb.org/

Please consider donation to our Second Century Fund: https://centennial.alsb.org/second-century/

San Diego Conference Pictures & Award Recipients


Congratulations to the foll0wing awards recipients:

Best Conference Papers Recognized at Section Meetings:

Ralph Bunche Distinguished International Paper:

Katayoon Beshkardana, Faraz Shahlae

Virginia Maurer Distinguished Ethics Paper: Suneal Bedi, Vikram Bhargava

Employment Law Paper: Stephen Park, Norm Bishara

Nancy Kubasek Distinguished Environmental Law Paper:

Lindsay Sain Jones, Kimberly Houser

Sports and Entertainment Law Paper: John Holden, Marc Edelman, Michael McCann

Interdisciplinary Section Paper: Farshad Ghodoosi, Tal Kastner

Faculty awards went to: Early Career Distinguished award: Mike Schuster and Jeremy Kress; Distinguished Career Award: Carol Miller; Kay Duffy Memorial Award: Phil Nichols

The Charles Hewitt McGraw Hill Master Teacher Finalists:Kylie Aikey, Cheryl Black, Sean Shannon, Mark Shapiro…..drumroll…..with Mark Shapiro taking home the golden apple.