Selected Refereed Papers Delivered at the 2021 ALSB Annual Conference – Online

Editor’s Forward

The 96th annual meeting of the Academy of Legal Studies in Business was held on August 1-6, 2021, online due to the continuing impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic. The papers published in these Proceedings were double blind reviewed by members of the Academy.  Papers were recommended for publication based on the quality of the research and the relevance of the topic to the substantive areas or pedagogy of business law or legal studies.

The Ernie King Best Reviewer Award was established in honor of Ernest W. King, long time Proceedings Editor and beloved colleague of many members of the Academy. This award is given to the reviewer(s) whose work made the most significant contribution to enhancing the quality of the paper reviewed.

2021 Ernie King Best Reviewer Award: Dexter Gruber, University of Indianapolis. Congratulations Dexter!

I am grateful to the many reviewers for the 2021 ALSB Proceedings. Your time, thoughtful comments and good judgment make the Proceedings better every year. Your service to the Proceedings and to the authors is greatly appreciated by me and by all of your colleagues in the Academy. I received numerous comments this year from authors specifically asking me to reach out to their reviewers to thank them for the insightful comments they received. I was very impressed with the quality of the reviews this year. Thank you also to all of those who offered to review but I was unable to provide a paper for you to review. I hope you will offer to review again in 2022.

I wish you all a healthy and successful new academic year.

Best Regards,
Linda S. Ficht, J.D., M.B.A.
Assistant Professor of Business Law
Christopher Newport University
Newport News, VA
2021 ALSB Proceedings Editor

List of Reviewers

Charlotte Alexander, Georgia State University

Karin Bogue, University South Florida

Dave Canarie, University of Southern Maine

Melissa DeFrench, Purdue University

Keith Diener, Stockton University

Sam Ehrlich, Boise State

Gail Evans, University of Houston Downtown, retired

Steven Feldmann, Miami University Regionals

Chelsea Green, Miami University

Dexter Gruber, University of Indianapolis

Chris Guzelian, Texas State University

Elizabeth Harvey, University of North Carolina Asheville

Stacy Hickox, Michigan State University

Richard Hunter, Seton Hall University

John Katsos, American University of Sharjah

Alan Koh, Nanyang Technological University

Christine Ladwig, Southeast Missouri State University

Lucas Loafman, Texas A&M University Central Texas

Bashar Malkawi, University of Arizona

William McDevitt, Saint Joseph’s University

Jennifer Merton, University of Massachusetts

Karen Meyers, Miami University

Philip Nichols, University of Pennsylvania

Susan O’Sullivan-Gavin, Rider University

Ursula Ramsey, University of North Carolina Wilmington

Lester Reams, Mount Saint Mary’s University Los Angeles

Karen Reardon, LaSalle University

Abbey Stemler, Indiana University

Jeffrey Todd, Texas State University

Sam Webb, Houston Baptist University

Index of Papers

#MeTooBots and the AI Workplace by Leora Eisenstadt.

Employment Discrimination and Political Views by Konrad Lee and Laura Kent-Jensen.

Fake News, Personal Attacks, and Ideological Media Run Amok: It is Time for Fairness Doctrine 2.0 by Mark Conrad.

Full Stream Ahead: An Analysis of the Compulsory Mechanical License in the Evolving Music Distribution Landscape by Thomas Woolley.

Judging Offensiveness: A Rubric for Privacy Torts by Patricia Sanchez Abril and Alissa Del Riego.

Normalizing De-Platforming: The Right Not to Tolerate the Intolerant by Robert Sprague.