ALSB Sections

Within the Academy are seven specific interests sections.  These sections sponsor symposia, panels, workshops, and papers at the annual ALSB Conference each August.  They also provide teaching and research support in their specialized areas.  Membership in the sections is only available to ALSB members.  Membership in more than one section is also encouraged.  The seven sections and the contact persons are:


Alternative Dispute Resolution

De Facto Chair: Kenneth Goldsmith, Chattanooga State

Employment Law

Past President: Ilse Hawkins, University of Cincinnati
President:  Norm Bishara, University of Michigan
Vice President:  Kurt Schulzke, Kennesaw State University
Secretary:  Alex Reed, University of Georgia

Visit the latest Summer 2014 ELS Newsletter

Visit the Journal of Employment and Labor Law


Don Mayer, University of Denver and Catharyn Baird, EthicsGame

Environmental Law and Sustainability

Chair:  Adam Sulkowski, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
Vice-Chair:  Janet Hale, Texas State University
Secretary:  Nancy Kubasek, Bowling Green State University

Envtl Law & Sustainability Section Blog

Spring 2014 Newsletter


President:  Alexis Brown Stokes, Texas State University – San Marcos
Vice President:  Marcia J. Staff, University of North Texas
Secretary/Treasurer:  Christina C. Benson, Elon University

June 2014 International Law Section Newsletter

Visit the International Section Homepage

Marketing and Sports Law

Chair: Mitch Sargen, LaSalle University and Penn State University
Vice Chair: Rita Cain, University of Missouri at Kansas City
Exec Secretary: Ross Petty, Babson College


Chair:  Rick Kunkel, University of St. Thomas
Vice Chair:  Ken Sanney, Central Michigan University
Secretary:  Linda Christiansen, Indiana University Southeast